First time hunting tips for non-Norwegians

gcapsuap

Hei all,

I am 27M, non-Norwegian raised up in a country where hunting is super illegal activity let alone owning a gun. I moved to Norway for my post graduation studies and now doing my PhD, and aiming to stay in Norway in future. I always have been super intrigued by hunting(via TV, Youtube, MEATEATER, etc) and outdoor activities since i was a kid. I just passed jegerprøveeksamen and waiting for my weapons application to be approved.

So one could have guessed by now I am totally new to this, just knowing things from youtube but not practically. Unlike Norwegian kids I have not grown up in this culture and don't know shit about practical hunting stuff in woods. Of course with this jegerproven kurs I know about rules/regulations and since I have moved to Norway I have got a bit good in bush-crafting also.

With me being non-Norwegian I have some limitations regarding hunting like:

1. No access to hunting dogs, atleast for next few years.

2. Probably very difficult to get into a hunting party/hunting teams so going for big game might take time

3. I live in Hybel, no car. So how to move to and forth to hunting place might be challenge which I would figure out

4. And basically inexperience and no family support.

I plan to start with small game this year, have already bought a season pass for an area nearby (which was free for first timers, luck me) and will buy some more for far off lands. I will be doing some recon trips in the nearby land for which I got pass until the season starts, trying to learn to stalk up to animals with full camo gear, decide upon a good camping site and maybe talking to locals there. Being super nerdy, I have also started reading lot of hunting books(Steven Rinella's books).

So now my question/or topic of discussion for you guys is, how do I start my life long hunting expedition basically from scratch. Any kind of suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks a lot in advance

mvh,